Argo Continues Winning Streak With Coveted Scripter Award

click image to enlarge
February 11, 2013 | 7:26am EST

Actor/director Ben Affleck’s acclaimed thriller Argo continued its winning streak by landing the coveted Scripter Award on Saturday.
Argo screenwriter Chris Terrio and authors Joshuah Bearman and Tony Mendez will share the prestigious Scripter prize, which is handed out annually to the writers behind the best book-to-film adaptation.
Bearman wrote the original 2007 Wired magazine article which inspired Argo, while former CIA agent Mendez’s memoir Master of Disguise was also used for the film.
Bearman accepted the prize during a ceremony in the Edward L. Doheny Memorial Library at the University of Southern California, seeing off competition from Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, Life of Pi, Beasts of the Southern Wild and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.
It was a great weekend for Affleck and Argo – the star won honors for Best Film and Best Director at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Film Awards in London on Sunday night.
Previous winners of the Scripter Award include The Descendants and The Social Network.