Elton John And Neil Diamond Classics Inducted Into Grammy Hall Of Fame

click image to enlarge
January 14, 2020 | 6:54pm EST

Classic recordings by Elton John, Neil Diamond, Public Enemy, and the Eurythmics have been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.
Officials at the Recording Academy have unveiled their 26-strong list of 2020 inductees, which range from Elton’s Tiny Dancer and Diamond’s singalong favorite Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Seemed So Good), to Nancy Sinatra’s 1966 hit These Boots Are Made for Walkin’ and The Police’s 1983 track Every Breath You Take.
The Eurythmics’ Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This), I’m a Man by Bo Diddley, Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard’s Pancho and Lefty, Patsy Cline’s Walkin’ After Midnight, and Swan Silvertones’ Oh Mary Don’t You Weep also made the cut of singles in the Hall of Fame.
Meanwhile, albums honored this year include Public Enemy’s It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back, Joni Mitchell’s Clouds, Devo’s Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! and Frampton Comes Alive!, the live release from Peter Frampton, as well as Eat a Peach by The Allman Brothers Band, and Joshua Rifkin’s Piano Rags by Scott Joplin.
“Each year it is our distinct privilege to preserve a piece of cultural and music history with our GRAMMY Hall Of Fame inductions,” Recording Academy President Deborah Dugan shares in a statement.
“We are so honored to welcome these timeless masterpieces to our growing catalog of iconic recordings that serve as a beacon of music excellence and diverse expression that will forever impact and inspire generations of creators.”
Releases must be at least 25 years old and of qualitative or historical significance to be eligible for entry into the Hall of Fame, which now boasts 1,114 recordings.