Florida Georgia Line Win CMAs Ceremony First Prize

click image to enlarge
November 6, 2013 | 9:17pm EST

Florida Georgia Line became the first big winners at the Country Music Associations Awards in Nashville, Tennessee on Wednesday night when their hit song Cruise was named Single of the Year.
The duo, who helped Luke Bryan open the show from the Bridgestone Arena, beat out Miranda Lambert, Darius Rucker, Tim McGraw and Kasey Musgraves to win the night’s first honor.
Lee Brice was also an early winner – his I Drive Your Truck was named Song of the Year.
McGraw’s collaboration with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban, Highway Don’t Care, might have lost out in the Single of the Year category, but the trio was a pre-ceremony winner, picking up Music Video of the Year and Musical Event of the Year awards hours before the prizegiving.
Swift was also an early winner when she was named only the second artist ever to be presented with the Pinnacle Award, which recognizes musicians who have made a significant impact on the industry.
Meanwhile, Musgraves, who was one of the first performers at the 2013 CMAs, had censors on the alert as she sang about same-sex kissing and smoking weed at the ceremony.
The live telecast sound was cut and cameras pulled away from the pretty singer’s face as she sang “When the straight and narrow gets a little too straight, roll up a joint, I would” in her hit song Follow Your Arrow.