Gaga Lands 13 VMA Nominations

click image to enlarge
August 3, 2010 | 2:08pm EST

Lady Gaga is set to dominate the upcoming MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) – the pop star has landed a record-breaking 13 nominations.

The Poker Face hitmaker’s haul marks the most ever VMA nominations scored by one artist in a single year.

Gaga has received nods in a string of different categories including Best Pop Video, Best Dance Music Video, Best Female Video, Best Choreography and Best Collaboration.

The delighted singer says, “I’m so honoured for all the little monsters (fans) and self-professed freaks of the universe to have more VMA nominations in a single year than any artist in MTV history. Ironically, I’m even more proud it’s an unlucky number – 13.

“A long time ago the world told me and my little monsters we would never be heard, together we changed the rules. God put me on Earth for three reasons: To make loud music, gay videos and cause a damn raucous (sic). Thank you, MTV!”

Gaga will compete against herself in for Best Pop Video, Best Female Video and the Video of the Year – her Video Phone collaboration with Beyonce will go head-to-head with Bad Romance in all three categories.

Tik Tok by Ke$ha, California Gurls by Katy Perry and Taylor Swift’s Fifteen will also compete for the Best Female Video award, while California Gurls, Tik Tok and Nothin’ On You by B.o.B. featuring Bruno Mars will also fight for the Best Pop Video honour.

Rap superstar Eminem, who landed eight nominations, will challenge Gaga for the coveted Video of the Year title with his single Not Afraid, while the song will also battle for Best Male Video and Best Hip-Hop Video. Drake’s star-studded Forever, which features Eminem alongside Kanye West and Lil Wayne, is also a contender for Best Hip-Hop Video.

Meanwhile, Ke$ha’s hit track has also scored the pop star a nod for the Best New Artist prize, going up against Justin Bieber (Baby), Jason Derulo (In My Head), Nicki Minaj (Massive Attack) and Broken Bells (The Ghost Inside).

The 2010 MTV Video Music Awards will air live from Los Angeles’ Nokia Theatre on 12 September.