Her, Fruitvale Station & Nebraska Multiple Winners For National Board Of Review

click image to enlarge
December 4, 2013 | 5:55pm EST

Spike Jonze’s acclaimed new film Her has been given a big Oscar boost after picking up America’s National Board of Review’s Best Film of 2013.
Jonze has also been honored as Best Director for the film, which stars Joaquin Phoenix, who missed out on the Best Actor trophy to Nebraska’s Bruce Dern.Emma Thompson’s role as Mary Poppins creator P.L. Travers in Saving Mr. Banks has landed her the Best Actress award, while Dern’s co-star Will Forte and Fruitvale Station’s Octavia Spencer have scored the Best Supporting Actor and Actress honors.
Fruitvale Station’s leading man Michael B. Jordan has been named the Breakthrough Performance of the year, and the film’s director Ryan Coogler has been awarded the Best Directorial Debut prize.
The full list of winners is:
Best Film: Her
Best Director: Spike Jonze, Her
Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Best Actress: Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks
Best Supporting Actor: Will Forte, Nebraska
Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, Fruitvale Station
Best Original Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis
Best Adapted Screenplay: Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street
Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises
Breakthrough Performance: Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station
Breakthrough Performance: Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color
Best Directorial Debut: Ryan Coogler, Fruitvale Station
Best Foreign Language Film: The Past
Best Documentary: Stories We Tell
William K. Everson Film History Award: George Stevens, Jr.
Best Ensemble: Prisoners
Spotlight Award: Career Collaboration of Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio
Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: Gravity